Let’s finish the job - support our national campaign here: Find out more

Management Units Active in 23/24 Financial Year

Date: 20th December 2023

Management units are the administrative boundaries that New Zealand has been divided into for
the National Wilding Conifer Control Programme (NWCCP) administered by MPI. There is a total of 129 management units. They cover private and public land.

Those in green below are the ones that are active (receiving funding from the NWCCP) in the current financial year. The majority are in the South Island because the need for control and the scale is greater than in the North Island.

The decision on which management units are active is based on a series of criteria that include extent of spread, impacts on biodiversity, productive environment etc. Which areas are controlled and how many is largely determined by available funding.

Posted in: News